Wednesday, August 2, 2023

Can't Wait Wednesday!

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for



The Christmas Wager
 by Holly Cassidy
Published by Viking on September 26, 2023
Age/Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Goodreads

From a bestselling Canadian author comes a delightful enemies-to-lovers holiday rom-com set in the quaint town of Maple Falls, about a city girl and a small-town boy who compete in the town's annual holiday games in order to win the right price for a Christmas shop, perfect for fans of The Hating Game and One Day in December.

One rivalry. Eight days until Christmas. Let the holiday games begin.

When LA-based real estate developer Bella Ross arrives in the sleepy, mountain town of Maple Falls, she has one mission: to acquire the local failing Christmas shop, Always Noelle, securing the promotion of her dreams. Nothing can get in her way. Except the shop owner's stubborn grandson, Jesse Harrison.

Both refuse to budge, until an unlikely wager is struck: Bella and Jesse will compete in the Maple Falls Holiday Games, an annual tradition of eccentric feats of strength and skills. Winner decides the selling price. They'll give each other a run for their money, but as the competition heats up, Bella and Jesse's icy feelings toward each other begin to thaw. It'll take a Christmas miracle for them to admit there's a spark, but what if it's just another game?

Holly Cassidy is new-to-me, but it seems she has written many suspense books as Hannah Mary McKinnon. Though I am not familiar with her work, I love holiday books! I see a holiday book, and those jingle bells start sounding in my ears as my finger clicks to add the book to my TBR. 

Aside from being a holiday book, this set-up reads like a Hallmark movie which I have nothing but love for. Seriously, a quaint town setting, small town boy battle big-city girl in the annual holiday games to win a Christmas shop. Sounds like it will be so much fun and is bound to leave me with a warm heart. 






Riggs
 by Sawyer Bennett
Published by Big Dog Books, LLC on October 26, 2021
Age/Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Goodreads

Known as the team loner, Riggs Nadeau gives his all on the ice, but nothing extra off it. A beautiful stranger is about to cause chaos in his very structured world.

As a professional hockey player, people think I live a charmed life. On the surface, I do. But they don’t know the horrors of my childhood, or the real reason that I have custody of my seventeen-year-old sister, Janelle. And that’s exactly the way I like it. They may think I’m a prick because I don’t like to share, but that’s fine. They don’t know me, and they don’t need to.

In an effort to help Janelle get settled in Phoenix and stay out of trouble at school, I set her up with a job at Clarke’s Corner, the local bookstore owned by the girlfriend of a teammate. It’s there that she makes friends with Veronica Woodley, the extremely annoying, arrogant, money-hungry divorcee who I don’t want anywhere near my sister. Janelle insists I’m completely wrong about Veronica, but I refuse to accept that. I have to keep reminding myself that that the gorgeous blond with legs for days is off limits.

Through a series of events, I start to see Veronica for what she really is—an amazing woman who has survived her own hell to come out even stronger. I have to admit, we’re more alike than not and the attraction between us burns hot.

Maybe I was all wrong about my ability to love and commit, but when the past comes back to haunt me, can I be the man that Veronica, and Janelle, deserve?

When I was scanning my Amazon cloud, I was surprised to see this book as unread. I was sure I finsihed all the Arizona Vengeance books, but alas, I did not. It seems I bought this book back in November of 2021 and let it fester, unread. I think I was distracted by Bennett's newest series (Pittsburgh Titians), but that's no excuse because this series has been rock solid for me. As a matter of fact, ALL Bennett's hockey books have been great for me.

Riggs has been an interesting character, and I am looking forward to getting his full story. I know he has custody of his sister for reasons that will break my heart, but also make me fall for him. From the sounds of that synopsis, it seems that Riggs goes all papa-bear when Veronica enters Janelle's life. Should be interesting to see how this romance plays out. 


What are you waiting on?
Let us know in the comments!

20 comments:

  1. Bring on the holiday books! I'm ready!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have like three on my TBR for next week. I seem to always miss Christmas in July

      Delete
  2. The Christmas Wager sounds fun! I can't wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I cannot resist holiday books, especially if they have a fun premise.

      Delete
  3. I'm looking forward to picking up both of these. Hope they're both winners!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Bennett's hockey romances are always great, and I enjoyed that this one set up the next series. It was great

      Delete
  4. Replies
    1. I did! The last chapter put it over the top for me

      Delete
  5. With the unbearable heat we've had this summer, I'm with you on needing some holiday books. Bring on some cooler weather!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's been really nice in the mornings here (it was 58 this morning!), and not too bad out of the sun in the afternoon. I can't complaint, but holiday books always make me happy

      Delete
  6. I love holiday books too, so The Christmas Wager is now on my list :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They always seem to be fun and heartwarming - what we expect from the season

      Delete
  7. I still haven't read any of the books in Bennett's series (though I have a few of them on my TBR already) but I'm really digging the sound of this dynamic! Will have to check it out 👀 I hope you enjoy these, Sam!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I recommend any of her hockey romances. I have read the Cold Fury, Arizona Vengeance, and the Pittsburgh Titians books. All great!

      Delete
  8. I'll be reading The Christmas Wager, too! I hope we both enjoy it. I might have gone overboard with the holiday ARCs this year. It's pretty much all I'll be reading in September, I think. Haha!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is so hard to say no to holiday books. I want to read them all!

      Delete
  9. I have so many unread Sawyer Bennett books. I really need to dive into that pile soon and get my hockey romance fix.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love that so many people have Christmas books popping up on their posts. I hope these are both wonderful reads for you.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Riggs was good, as expected, but it was even a bit better than I hoped because the last chapter was so emotional as it set up the next series.

      Delete