Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:
You Should See Me in a Crown
Leah Johnson
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: June 2, 2020
Goodreads
Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.

But when the financial aid she was counting on unexpectedly falls through, Liz's plans come crashing down . . . until she's reminded of her school's scholarship for prom king and queen. There's nothing Liz wants to do less than endure a gauntlet of social media trolls, catty competitors, and humiliating public events, but despite her devastating fear of the spotlight she's willing to do whatever it takes to get to Pennington.

The only thing that makes it halfway bearable is the new girl in school, Mack. She's smart, funny, and just as much of an outsider as Liz. But Mack is also in the running for queen. Will falling for the competition keep Liz from her dreams . . . or make them come true?
Why I want to read this book

I always love reading a story about someone with a dream, who is willing to do what it takes to make it happen. Liz sounds like a phenomenal character, who has drive and tenacity, characteristics I always admire. It looks like there may be a sweet romance in store for Liz too. I predict I will be cheering Liz on as she battles for the crown on the road to making her dreams come true.


Summer of Supernovas
Darcy Woods
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Crown Books FYR
Release Date: May 10, 2016
Goodreads
"Whether or not you believe in fate or reading the stars, if you believe in happiness and love to laugh, read Summer of Supernovas."--Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one zodiac-obsessed teen as she struggles to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.

As the daughter of an expert astrologer, Wilamena Carlisle knows that truth lies within the stars. So when she discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love. But Wil must decide whether to trust her heart or her chart when she falls for a sensitive guitar player whose zodiac sign points to cosmic disaster.

If Wil’s fate is truly written in the stars, then this summer is about to go supernova . . .
Why I want to read this book

Well, this is rather embarrassing. It seems I added this book to my TBR in September of 2015, AND I have owned this book since 2017. I think it's enough to want to read this book simply because it has been on my "shelf" for three years, but there are other reasons. The zodiac angle is interesting to me, because my grandmother was all about the "stars". I remember her always asking when someone's birthday was, when they would come up in conversation, you know, because their star sign would clearly explain any and all their behaviors. I was fascinated by this habit of her's, and found it rather amusing. This is also a summer time little romance, which to me, holds the promise of being light and breezy and exactly what I need right now.

What are you waiting on?
Any backlog books you want to read soon? 
Let us know in the comments!

42 comments:

  1. I don't think I remember Summer of Supernovas. I've never given much credence to zodiac signs and horoscopes (but I will admit that the typical characteristics for my sign do describe me pretty well).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was my mother's family's second language. It baffled me, but the book is really fun and cute and checking all my boxes.

      Delete
  2. I remember hearing about You Should See Me in A Crown on twitter and it sounds like it is going to be a pretty good read. Happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am very excited to meet Liz. She sounds too fabulous

      Delete
  3. I love the title, Summer of Supernovas!
    Hope you enjoy both your books, Sam!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The MC is into stars and star charts. I am a few chapters in and really enjoying it. Lots of fun

      Delete
  4. Isn't You Should See Me in a Crown just fantastic? I cannot wait to get my hands on it!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was immediately drawn to the cover. The young women is so vibrant, but I also love her goals. I have high hopes for this book

      Delete
  5. This week I finally seem to be reading again, which is something of a relief! I've ordered some books as a treat to myself but books are not a priority delivery for Amazon now so they won't arrive until May. Still, other customers need things like water more than I need books so I'm not complaining.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wow! They are delays until May? That is surprising. I get not having one day service, but over a month? Well, I hope they are all worth the wait.

      Delete
  6. I know as a romance fan you will love Darcy's book.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love Liz's drive and determination - I'm rooting for her, too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She definitely sounds like a character I would have no problem embracing

      Delete
  8. I have books I've purchased and then forgot about as well. Too many! Hope you love both the new and the old. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's why I have been loving Books from the Backlog. It forces me to face that backlist.

      Delete
  9. These both sound good! Like you, I love a strong character that will fight for something they want, and Summer of Supernovas sounds like a really cute and funny read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. An underdog, who never gives up is my catnip. The more I talk about it, the more excited I am getting about that book

      Delete
  10. Both of these sound super-cute! I love that you're featuring two books!

    MY CWW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. super-cute is like a bell ringer for me. It calls me to a book

      Delete
  11. Love the cover of You Should See Me In a Crown! Great picks this week!
    Check out my Wednesday post

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They picked a fantastic cover model for that book, because I know I want to get to know that young woman's story.

      Delete
  12. Cute picks! Both are new to me ones. I hope you'll enjoy them once you get to read them!


    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Summer of Supernovas does sound fun, and I like the sound of the zodiac angle. A nice summery read doesn't hurt either.:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am about halfway through, and it's so fun and cute. A really on brand book for me.

      Delete
  14. I recently moved, so I was forced to reconcile my large TBR shelf. I'm getting a couple have to reads out of the way and then plan to use this quarantine time to catch up!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good luck with catching up. I know I will never read them all, but at least I can try

      Delete
  15. I'm not familiar with that second book but it sounds like a fun read. I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am almost finished Supernovas, and it is exactly what I was hoping for. Fun and super cute, and slightly frustrating as I watch the MC's head and heart do battle

      Delete
  16. Replies
    1. Always looking for something a little different to keep my reading interesting.

      Delete
  17. 3 years is a more recent acquisition for me :) I am such a book hoarder. These both sound really good. I can't wait to see what you end up thinking of them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I only started pleasure reading again back in 2013, so this is older for me. I loved Summer of Supernovas. It was the fun, cute pick me up I needed.

      Delete
  18. You Should See Me in a Crown! I love the idea of following someone dedicated to their dreams and willing to do whatever it takes. Though, I'm nervous with the mention of social media trolls... I don't think Liz will get out of this unscathed.

    How do you always have so many books for Can't Wait Wednesday? I can barely keep up with my favorite author's new books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am getting all the underdog feel-good vibes from Crown. I do feel like there will be pushback, but it will only make her stronger, I'm sure. My TBR is an unscalable mountain. There is never a shortage of books I want to read.

      Delete
  19. Ahh I'm so curious about You Should See Me In A Crown, this book sounds so good! :) I hope you'll love both of these :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Supernovas was great. Exactly what I was looking for.

      Delete
  20. You Should See Me In A Crown sounds really good and I can already sense the rivals-to-lovers trope sizzling.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's not my favorite trope, but I usually enjoy it. I just know I want to know more about Liz

      Delete