Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Can't-Wait Wednesday


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I can't wait for
 
I Wanna Be Where You Are
Kristina Forest
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Goodreads
"In a world where it's easy to lose faith in love, I WANNA BE WHERE YOU ARE is a brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut." ― Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe’s mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe’s chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast―two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.

Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.
Why I want to read this book

There are so many reasons I want to read this book, among them:

  1. I love a good road trip 
  2. Chloe is not going about it in the best way, but I admire that she is going after her dream
  3. I smell a cute romance with the annoying neighbor
  4. I love dance related books
  5. Look at that cover! I totally want to get to know that girl better


The Rest of the Story
Sarah Dessen
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Goodreads
Emma Saylor doesn’t remember a lot about her mother, who died when she was ten. But she does remember the stories her mom told her about the big lake that went on forever, with cold, clear water and mossy trees at the edges.

Now it’s just Emma and her dad, and life is good, if a little predictable…until Emma is unexpectedly sent to spend the summer with her mother’s family—her grandmother and cousins she hasn’t seen since she was a little girl.

When Emma arrives at North Lake, she realizes there are actually two very different communities there. Her mother grew up in working class North Lake, while her dad spent summers in the wealthier Lake North resort. The more time Emma spends there, the more it starts to feel like she is divided into two people as well. To her father, she is Emma. But to her new family, she is Saylor, the name her mother always called her.

Then there’s Roo, the boy who was her very best friend when she was little. Roo holds the key to her family’s history, and slowly, he helps her put the pieces together about her past. It’s hard not to get caught up in the magic of North Lake—and Saylor finds herself falling under Roo’s spell as well.

For Saylor, it’s like a whole new world is opening up to her. But when it’s time to go back home, which side of her will win out?
Why I want to read this book

I sort of only needed to know one thing about this book to add it to my TBR - it's written by Sarah Dessen. Dessen is a go-to for me. She writes these perfect and beautiful YA contemporaries, that always have the perfect balance of light and heavy. This one gets extra points for appearing to have a great family focus and a journey of self discovery, which are always great for me.

What are you waiting on?
Let us know in the comments!

34 comments:

  1. Road trip book! Who can pass that up? :) I haven't read anything by Dessen in years. What's funny is that my 74 year old mom read several by her recently. Somehow she wandered in her library's YA section and picked up a couple. She asked me if Dessen had written any more and I was like, don't worry, you're good for a while. She has loads. LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wow! I just cannot see my mom reading a YA book. That's wild and fantastic

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. The story sounds great too. I am hoping because she's with a different pub, that I get lucky and am approved for the book 🙅‍♀️

      Delete
  3. I Wanna Be Where You Are has a gorgeous cover! I'm in love!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The story sounds fabulous too. I am all about reading that book

      Delete
  4. I do love a good road trip book. And can you believe I've never read Sarah Dessen?? I always meant to!

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oddly enough, my least favorite Dessen books were the two they based the film How to Deal on, but they were still pretty good

      Delete
  5. I haven't heard of either of these! I used to love Sarah Dessen but I haven't read anything by her in probably ten years.
    The other one looks great too.

    Ash @ JennRenee Read

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I binge all her books a few years back, and have just kept up since then. I adore her!

      Delete
  6. AHH these are amazing choices! I can't wait to read I Wanna Be Where You Are, it's one of my most anticipated reads and it sounds so, so good. Plus, I'm in love with this book cover haha :) Hope you'll love these two! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It sounds so wonderful, and the cover is phenomenal. Chloe has such a look so wonder in her eyes. Of course I want to go on a road trip with her.

      Delete
  7. Cute picks! I've been seeing a lot of the Sarah Dessen one! I hope you enjoy them both once you get to read them!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dessen is just a YA rock star for me. I will always read her books.

      Delete
  8. I've only read one other Sarah Dessen book, but I do like the family focus in this one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have read them all. Only two were sort of weak for me (the ones they based How to Deal on), but they were still decent.

      Delete
  9. Both of these are on my TBR! Just Listen is still my all-time favorite Dessen book. I read it at a point in my life when I really needed it, and it's always stuck with me. It's been ages since I've read anything by her, even though I own most of her books. The last one I read was about weddings, but the title is evading my thoughts... ;)

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? 💬

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved Just Listen, but also Along for the Ride, which I never really hear people talk about. I only did go head over heels for That Summer, and though it was my lowest rated Dessen, it was still good. Her last book was Once and For All, which was really emotional for me, when we finally got the full story.

      Delete
  10. I cannot wait for that Sarah Dessen book! It feels like ages since she released one. Plus, that title reminds me of being little and my dad listening to Paul Harvey's "The Rest of the Story."

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Because I didn't pleasure read for so many years, I missed all the Dessen releases, and had binged them . So, having read Once and For all back in 2017, it DOES feel like forever since I read a Dessen book.

      Delete
  11. I am super excited for Sarah Dessen's next book as well! I will read absolutely anything that she writes. I hope that we both love it! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same. Dessen writes it, I read it. I only have 1 meh rating for her (That Summer), which was still an ok read. I can depend on her for a certain kind of story, and I am never disappointed.

      Delete
  12. Ooh I just saw I Wanna Be on another post, and I think roadtrip stories can be so fun! Hope this one's a winner. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am sad that I didn't go on any road trips in my HS years (the closest I got was my ill fated spring break trip, when it snowed in the south - YIKES!) Maybe that's why I love reading about them so much.

      Delete
  13. Both of these are perfect summer reads. You always find such fun books:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am all about the F-U-N books. Life can be so heavy and sad, I need some fun to break it up.

      Delete
  14. So far I've only read two of Dessen's books but I loved them both so this new one definitely appeals to me. The road trip book sounds excellent too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dessen is always a solid read, if not, an amazing read for me. I don't even feel like I am taking a chance at this point, having 13 of her books under my belt.

      Delete
  15. These both sound like fun, romantic reads. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am hoping they deliver the fun I am expecting

      Delete
  16. Loving the black rep on the cover of I Wanna Be Where You Are! Sarah Dessen books are a hit or miss for me. I've read two that I strongly disliked and one I absolutely loved. I need to try more by her ^.^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have read all of Dessen's books, and only one was under 4 stars. I like them. The cover for IWBWYA is beautiful and I love the concept of the book too.

      Delete
  17. These sound good. I love books about road trips. I will have to check these out. =0)

    Mary

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Road trips are such a fun way to bring us to different sites, but also create some fun and drama

      Delete