Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday!


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:
Say Yes Summer
Lindsey Roth Culli
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: May 12, 2020
Goodreads
Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Netflix/Hallmark Channel rom-coms, this is the story of a girl who decides to give in to the universe and just say yes to everything, bringing her friendship, new experiences, and, if she lets her guard down, true love.

The perfect book to kick off summer! For as long as Rachel Brooks can remember, she's had capital-G Goals: straight As, academic scholarship, college of her dreams. And it's all paid off--after years of following the rules and acing every exam, Rachel is graduating at the top of her class and ready to celebrate by . . . doing absolutely nothing. Because Rachel Brooks has spent most of high school saying no. No to dances, no to parties, and most especially, no to boys.

Now, for the first time in her life, there's nothing stopping Rachel from having a little fun--nothing, that is, except herself. So when she stumbles on a beat up old self-help book--A SEASON OF YES!--a crazy idea pops into her head: What if she just said yes to . . . everything?

And so begins a summer of yes. Yes to new experiences and big mistakes, yes to rekindled friendships and unexpected romances, yes to seeing the world in a whole new way. This book is a fresh and fun take on the coming-of-age novel that explores the quintessential themes of growing up: taking risks, making mistakes, and, of course, love. And who knows? Lindsey Roth Culli's hilarious and heartwarming debut may just inspire your own SAY YES SUMMER.
Why I want to read this book

I feel like many of you would have picked this book for me, after reading that first paragraph. It mentions Morgan Matson (love her books!), Hallmark rom-coms (love them, too!), and friendship. How could I resist? I also love the idea of seeing a character, who was so focused on her goals, letting loose, and saying "yes" to new experiences. Sounds very promising to me.


What Happens Now
Jennifer Castle
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 7, 2016
Goodreads
"I know what it is to want something so badly, you feel like your cells aren’t properly bonded together without it. I also know what it’s like to get that something. And honestly, I’m still not sure which is worse..."

Ari Logan is battling to win her war against depression and the dark night she hurt herself on purpose. It’s not easy: her best friend is drifting away, her mom’s emotionally checked out, and she spends her days playing caregiver to her handful of a half-sister, Danielle. But it’s summer, and anything is possible...

That’s when Camden Armstrong steps onto the beach of Ari’s local swimming lake.

At first, Ari quietly longs for Camden from afar, seeing in him everything she wants to be. When the two discover a true connection the following summer, Ari lets herself fall not just for the quirky and self-assured Camden but also his friends, tumbling into their world of independence, adventure, and shared sci-fi fandom. As Ari’s romantic dreams come true, she must unlock the mysteries of the very real and troubled boy behind her infatuation, while also struggling with her own demons, obligations, and loyalties.

From the award-winning author of "The Beginning of After" and "You Look Different in Real Life," "What Happens Now" is a touching, insightful novel about learning to heal, learning to love, and what happens when fantasy becomes reality.
Why I want to read this book

I had read Together at Midnight, and knew I wanted to read more from Castle. I have an affinity for books that tackle mental health issues, as this is a world I am part of. This book not only promises shining a spotlight on mental health issues, but also seems to include romance, friendship, and fandoms -- all things I love to read about.
What are you waiting on?
Any backlog books you want to read soon? 
Let us know in the comments!

52 comments:

  1. The cover to Saying Yes just made me smile when I saw it -- and it's a brave thing to do -- to say yes to everything. I'm very intrigued by this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, that opening yourself up to lots of new experiences can be scary, but also rewarding.

      Delete
  2. Yes! I always love these type of reads but especially in the summer.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Say Yes Summer sounds so fun! Kind of like the movie Booksmart, but I think this one will be a lot more age appropriate and heartwarming!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't know much about Booksmart. The girls were trying to do high school like things on grad night or something, right? I heard good things about it, but don't see many films myself.

      Delete
  4. Say Yes Summer looks so cute! That cover totally makes me want to pick it up. I saw What Happens Now cover and thought, "Am I crazy? Wasn't this book already released?" And then read it's from the backlog lol
    Genesis @ Whispering Chapters

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I always feature a new and old release with my backlog book being on my weekly TBR

      Delete
  5. I hope you enjoy them! I love the cover of Say Yes Summer. It’s very . . . summer. :)

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It definitely does read summer. So, good job to the cover designer.

      Delete
  6. The first one is definitely on my TBR! I also like your theme of summer books.
    Check out my Wednesday post

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Maybe my theme was subconscious, because I didn't realize they were related until you just pointed it out

      Delete
  7. both covers give me a feel good vibe
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  8. You really are ready for the summer to come Sam ;-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This was unintentional, but hey, I like that they work well together

      Delete
  9. Both books have that fun, summer vibe cover which make sme happy.

    Karen @ For What It's worth

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Everyone has been pointing out how these are both summer books, and I didn't even plan the theme

      Delete
  10. Say Yes sounds like a cutie and I like the elements you mention in your Books From the Backlog pick.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Any book with an ice cream on the cover is one that beckons me to read it! I am so excited for the big rush of contemporaries. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Say Yes Summer sounds super cute. I might also be up for What Happens Now if I wasn't coming off of a month of some very dark reads. It sounds like it might be a bit on the heavy side.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Castle doesn't tend heavy, so I am thinking the book will be more hopeful than anything.

      Delete
  13. Both of those look so summery! I have fun memories of my grandparents' raft in the lake we used to go to so anytime I see a cover like that it takes me back. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Were your grandparents in MI too? My aunt owned 16 acres in upstate NY, and she had one in her pond. Swimming with the leeches and turtles. Good times

      Delete
    2. Yes they were about 2 hours north of where I grew up. Beautiful area, my parents had a place up there for a while and so did my grandparents and my aunt and uncle, so we had lots of fun family times up there. Lots of great memories of laying out in the sun on the raft. :)

      Turtles sound amazing, but leeches? Yikes!!

      Delete
    3. That sounds awesome! Yeah, city girl finding out about leeches for the first time was pretty hilarious.

      Delete
  14. Say Yes Summer seems like a cute one - makes me think of some similar adult novels.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'm so ready for summer and these look fun!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My summer theme was very unplanned, but I could use some of that to take the chill off today

      Delete
  16. These look like great summer reads, I hope you love them (and I know you will!)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I started the Castle book this morning, and it's really good. When the character talks about her depression, I cannot help but nod and agree with what she is saying

      Delete
  17. I feel like I’ve read something by Castle before so I’m going to have to look that up. Her name is so familiar. And this one sounds like it’ll be good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She has written a few books, her last was Together at Midnight. So far, I am enjoying Happens, and eager to see where it goes

      Delete
  18. Both are pretty new to be, but they both look like great summer reads! It makes me excited for summer to come!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. One is old (the Castle), but one is unreleased (Say Yes), but I am just now realizing they are both summer books. I could use something to keep me warm today

      Delete
  19. Both of these sound like good spring/summer reads.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Say Yes is most definitely a summer book, for me. It sounds light and fluffy. I am about 1/3 through Happens, and it has a bit of weight, but it's very good

      Delete
  20. Say Yes Summer sounds like so much fun. I hope you love it!

    ReplyDelete
  21. These looks like great upcoming books!! Just so you know, I just went through your Goodreads Read list because I wanted more light YA romances for my Hoopla Favorites list. Sometimes I just need a fun read---I was pretty sure I could find some from you. :-) If you have any specific recommendations, let me know!!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I feel like the queen of the light read. I love them. I hope you found something that interested you.

      Delete
  22. Say Yes Summer looks like such a fun, and adorable read! I'm going to have to add it to my TBR. Thanks for putting it on my radar Sam :)

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah! I love spreading my love for the light and fluffy read. They really are my go-tos for mood busting.

      Delete
  23. I do love a good Netflix/Hallmark rom-com! Say Yes Summer sounds like a good one. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same. I am a total Hallmarkie, all about that cheese.

      Delete
  24. Oooohhh. Two books to add to my radar, these sound SO GOOD! I loved Together at Midnight as well, I need to read more from the author :) thank you so much!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked Castle's book. It was a solid read. I will admit, the first half was better for me than the second, but I appreciated the complex situations she was trying to traverse.

      Delete
  25. Say Yes Summer has THE most summery cover. I have actually actively worked more on saying yes while here on my year abroad and it is going well for me so far! And I did like Together at Midnight too. I didn't know she had a new book upcoming so I am going to have to add it to my list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Saying yes is hard, so good for you! You are always doing exciting and interesting things. That is not a new book by Castle. It's my backlist pick, and it was good.

      Delete