Monday, March 29, 2021

Blog Tour: Kisses and Croissants - Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau


Kisses and Croissants

Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Goodreads
As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve.

In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love.
REVIEW

Mia aspired to be a ballerina and had worked towards this goal her entire life. Her determination and hard work paid off, and she won a spot in a prestigious summer program in PARIS! Though she came to Paris laser focused on winning an apprenticeship, her heart had some ideas of its own. 

This was such a fun and sweet summer romance! It was easy to ship Mia and Louis immediately. This French boy charmed both me and Mia, and I loved that he pushed her to enjoy all the Paris had to offer. Without Louis' encouragement, I fear that Mia would have really missed out on some wonderful experiences and learning more about herself. 

But there was more to this story than just the romance. The combination of setting, ballet, and family mystery added extra layers to the story, which I really adored. 

🥐 AHHHH, A SUMMER IN PARIS

Jouhanneau did an incredible job transporting me to Paris. She showed me the sights, took me on a non-touristy tour, and fed me until I burst. The city truly shined in this book, as it was such an integral part of Mia's journey. I had only been to Paris once, and it was many years ago, therefore, I greatly enjoyed the return trip.  

🥐  BALLET DREAMS

I have always loved the world of dance. I only dabbled as a kid, but I was a hard-core dance mom, and wholeheartedly appreciated the hard work and mental fortitude needed to succeed in this world. The passion Mia had for ballet was obvious, and her determination was admirable. I really enjoyed riding this roller coaster with her as she fought for her dream. There were successes and setbacks, and each one helped move Mia closer to her end goal. 

🥐  FAMILY MYSTERY 

Mia came from a family of dancers, or so the tale went. Part of Mia's summer was spent trying to find the truth behind the family lore. Was her relative really one of Degas' ballerinas? The search for the answer to this question was lots of fun. It resulted in Mia meeting some wonderful relatives, took her to some fantastic places, and helped her figure out some things about herself.

Overall, I greatly enjoyed my summer in Paris with Mia. It was a joy to accompany her as she pursued her dream, and it was wonderful rooting her on and applauding for her along the way. This was a fun and sweet story of family, friendship, romance, hopes, and dreams, which left me with a big smile on my face. 

* ARC received in exchange for an honest review.



GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau is a bilingual French author of young adult fiction and nonfiction. Her books have been translated into seven languages. Kisses and Croissants (Delacorte Press, 2021) is her U.S. debut. After graduating university in France, she moved to Amsterdam to begin a career in advertising. She then spent a few years in Melbourne before settling in New York City, where she lives with her Australian husband and their American cat.
















Favorite French pastry?
Let us know in the comments!

16 comments:

  1. The Paris setting alone makes me want to read this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The authors knowledge and love of the city really shows in the story

      Delete
  2. What an adorable title! I love dancers in books so I'm intrigued by this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And truthful too. Lots of kisses and croissants

      Delete
  3. I have this on the TBR. Glad it left a smile on your face!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's was exactly what I wanted it to be - cute and sweet. I enjoyed my time reading it.

      Delete
  4. This sounds really cute and I'm always a sucker for a good book set in Paris. I'm not a dancer myself but I am always fascinated when reading about dancers for the reasons you mentioned.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was cute, and the author's knowledge and love of the city showed.

      Delete
  5. I love the sound of this one. You really can't go wrong with Paris and ballet in the same story.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I felt like I had a pretty epic summer with Mia

      Delete
  6. This was such a fun read and that Pairs setting can't be beat for romance! I am so glad that you enjoyed it so much. :)

    ReplyDelete