Wednesday, November 18, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday!


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:

This Will Be Funny Someday

Katie Henry
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: January 19, 2021
Goodreads
A girl walks into a bar… then onto a stage, and up to the mic.

Sixteen-year-old Izzy is used to keeping her thoughts to herself—in school, where her boyfriend does the talking for her, and at home, where it’s impossible to compete with her older siblings and high-powered parents—but when she accidentally walks into a stand-up comedy club and performs, the experience is surprisingly cathartic. After the show, she meets Mo, an aspiring comic who’s everything Izzy’s not: bold, confident, comfortable in her skin. Mo invites Izzy to join her group of friends and introduces her to the Chicago open mic scene.

The only problem? Her new friends are college students—and Izzy tells them she’s one, too. Now Izzy, the dutiful daughter and model student, is sneaking out to perform stand-up with her comedy friends, and she can hardly remember all the lies she’s telling to keep her two lives separate.

Her controlling boyfriend is getting suspicious, and her former best friend knows there’s something going on. But Izzy loves comedy and this newfound freedom. As her two parallel lives collide—in the most hilarious of ways—Izzy must choose to either hide what she really wants and who she really is or, finally, truly stand up for herself.
Why I want to read this book

I have read both of Henry's previous releases, Heretics Anonymous and Let's Call It a Doomsday, and both were rock solid reads for me. Her books were very funny, but also thoughtfully explored issues facing teens. This time, comedy takes center stage, as a way for the main character to escape from her life, but it sounds like there are good reasons for why she wants that escape. I mostly wanted to read this because Henry wrote it, but I also wanted to get to know more about Izzy, and I already know I want her to work though the issues in her life, while she finds her happy. 


If You Come Softly

Jacqueline Woodson
Series: If You Come Softly, #1
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Release Date: September 28, 1998
Goodreads
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children's Literature Jacqueline Woodson—now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he's in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he's going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don't exactly fit in there. So it's a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together—even though she's Jewish and he's black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that's not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.
Why I want to read this book

I am reading Roman & Jewel this week, which is a Romeo & Juliet retelling. I was looking for something that would pair with it, and this book has been on my TBR for quite a while. It also has that R&J theme, which makes it a perfect pairing, and I have been wanting to read something by Woodson for quite a while. Woodson is oft mentioned as an inspiration for many YA authors, which is another reason I need to read some of her work. 
What are you waiting on?
Any backlog books you want to read soon? 
Let us know in the comments!

36 comments:

  1. I like the sound of This Will Be Funny One Day, thanks for putting it on my radar

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I expect it to be rather funny, because Henry's books always are. She handles issues well too

      Delete
  2. Oh these sound incredible Sam, I really love the premise of This Will Be Funny Someday, I desperately need more laughter at the moment and very few authors have great comedic timing. Imagine sneaking out at night... to perform a stand up routine 😂 I can tell this is going to be brilliant!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Henry always cracks me up, so I hope her humor works for you too

      Delete
  3. So many books so little time. I am hoping to read this one in the near future.
    clipping path

    ReplyDelete
  4. The cover for If you come softly genuinely looks somewhat magical -- and is such a contrast to the blurb and the school and Manhattan Neighbourhood.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know it's a tragic love story, so I have to be prepared.

      Delete
  5. This Will Be Funny Someday sounds like it will have a great mix of light moments and lots of feels!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I expect it will be as Henry's other books were.

      Delete
  6. That Jacqueline Woodson cover is stunning!!
    That banana peel though? NOPE.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's the 20th anniversary cover. The original was not so special. I think that's Henry's stick. Her first book had a slice of toast, the second a can of tomatoes, and now this.

      Delete
  7. I've never read any of Katie Henry's books but I've been interested to try them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Her last book, Let's Call It a Doomsday, was so good. I am shocked I didn't hear about it more.

      Delete
  8. this will be funny someday immediately caught my eye. looks like a lot of fun
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This author always delights me, so I expect it will get me giggling.

      Delete
  9. This Will Be Funny Someday sounds like the perfect title for 2020... It also sounds like a great book. I can't wait to hear what you think of it!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Both of these sound good but If You Come Softly really grabs me. I'm a fan of R&J retellings, though. Hope you love both!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am preparing for it to be sad, because we all know R&J were tragic lovers, but I am looking forward to reading it.

      Delete
  11. I'm upset that I still haven't read anything by Jacqueline Woodson!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This book is over 20 years old and I'm just reading it. It's never too late. She has quite a body of work too.

      Delete
  12. Oh my goodness, both of these sounds AMAZING! How have I never heard of these?! I'm so glad you shared these on here.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Cute picks! Both totally new to me ones. Hope you love them both once you read them!


    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Starting the Woodson tomorrow. So, preparing to have my heart shredded.

      Delete
  14. I have wanted to read Woodson for a while as well. I will look forward to your review of that one. This Will Be Funny Someday looks like it would be a very good read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right. She's one of the those big names in kidlit. I can't believe I have not read something by her.

      Delete
  15. Nice picks. This Will Be Funny Someday caught my attention.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I feel like that one is going to be a real hit for me. Funny and I know the author writes great stories.

      Delete
  16. Stan up comedy? That seems so much fun that one Sam!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's fun seeing comedy take center stage in many YA books lately. I am enjoying them all

      Delete
  17. I am VERY excited about the new Katie Henry book! Like you, I have enjoyed both of hers! Also If You Come Softly is GORGEOUS (I assume the cover is a redo because you and I both know what covers from the 90s looked like 😂) but it sounds awesome, thanks for putting it on my radar!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! It's the 20th anniversary cover for If You Come Softly. I love it, because it captures a really beautiful scene from when they were in the park together. It's very short, but packs quite a punch. I was a hot mess at the end.

      Delete
  18. The Katie Henry book is new to me and sounds like it could be a fun read. If You Come Softly is one I've had my eye on because of the star-crossed lover angle. I hope you love both of these!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was a mess by the end of If You Come Softly. It packs a lot of emotion for a short book.

      Delete