Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Can't Wait Wednesday!


Can’t-Wait Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

I am combining CWW with Books From the Backlog hosted by Carole at Carole's Random Life in Books. This will allow me to feature some newly "rediscovered" books, which I plan on reading, alongside a new release.

This week I can't wait for:
Things That Grow

Meredith Goldstein
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 9, 2021
Goodreads
After her grandmother dies, a girl travels to different gardens to scatter her ashes, learning about life, love, and how to laugh again along the way. From Love Letters advice columnist and podcast host Meredith Goldstein, this emotionally resonant novel is perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jenna Evans Welch.

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.
Why I want to read this book

She's going from garden to garden scattering her beloved grandmother's ashes. Seriously, people! 😭 You know I live for these books. Not just do I get to be part of Lori's healing journey, I get to go on a road trip, another thing I love. I feel some really heartwarming vibes from this one, and I hope it lives up to my expectations. 

 

Girl Overboard

Justina Chen
Age/Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: January 1, 2008
Goodreads
The worst thing about having it all is having to deal with it all-the good, the bad, and the just plain weird. Like seeing more of my dad when he's on the cover of Business Week than I do in person. Like the surgeon whose schedule was too jammed with professional ballplayers to deal with my busted up knee...until he heard who my parents were and miraculously his calendar was wide open. Like the pseudo boyfriend who was more in love with my last name than with me.

Everybody thinks Syrah is the golden girl. After all, her father is Ethan Cheng, billionaire, and she has everything any kid could possibly desire, right down to a waterfront mansion, jet plane, and custom-designed snowboards. But most of what glitters in her life is fool's gold. Her half-siblings hate her, her best friend Adrian's girlfriend is ruining their friendship, and her own so-called boyfriend is after her for her father's name. When her broken heart results in a snowboarding accident that exiles her from the mountains--the one place where she feels free and accepted for who she is, not what she has--Syrah must rehab both her busted-up knee, and her broken heart, and learn that she's worth her weight in real gold.
Why I want to read this book

I was drawn to the book for the girl in sports angle, but the more I read the synopsis, the more interested I was in getting to know Syrah. I am intrigued by this world she lives in, and I already want to see her successfully rehab her knee, return to snowboarding, and figure out her life. 
What are you waiting on?
Any backlog books you want to read soon? 
Let us know in the comments!

26 comments:

  1. Heartwarming sounds like the perfect way to describe Things That Grow!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Both of these sound like great reads! I hope you enjoy them both.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am starting my backlog book tomorrow, so I am hoping it's a hit.

      Delete
  3. Things That Grow sounds super emotional. And the Robin Benway comparison is a bonus!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right! That definitely had me more excited about this book

      Delete
  4. OMG that first one seems heartbreaking Sam! I think if your review is enthusiastic I will buy it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it will be heartbreaking but hopeful and heartwarming

      Delete
  5. Cute picks! Hope you enjoy them both once you get to read them!


    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. You picked another pair of books that sound fantastic! I love how you are able to bring books to my attention that I haven't heard of before. I hope you love both of these!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am enjoying Girl Overboard, which I started this morning. I like the sports stuff, and the family angle is interesting too

      Delete
  7. What great picks you have there, I am so intrigued by the sound of these. I do love seeing a story have that "road trip" trope, its one of the best to see in books. Hope you have a great time with these.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Road trip books have so many possibilities, and I especially love when they take us to interesting places and really feature the stops on the trip

      Delete
  8. Things That Grow has such a beautiful cover! Hope you love the insides as well! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Full disclosure, I noticed the cover before the story. It's very pretty

      Delete
  9. I agree, Syrah, her world and her relationships most especially sound so good. I hope its' as good as it sounds!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am about 25% in and I feel bad that Syrah cannot tell who really wants to know her and who wants to know her for her family ties. It isolates her a lot

      Delete
  10. I have to make sure that Girl Overboard is on my tbr because it sounds like a fantastic sports book. I hope that you love both of these when you do get the chance to read them. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's good so far. I am about 25% in and I already feel a lot of sympathy for Syrah

      Delete
  11. Things That Grow sounds like one of those books I'll need to have a box of tissues nearby when I read it, lol.

    ReplyDelete